Home > General > Inside FiiO D3

Inside FiiO D3

More on Fiio D3

  • Power supply tweaks: [link]
  • Fiio D3 Mods: [link]

Update 10/26/12

3.3V or 5V OPERATION?

According to the datasheet, the Cirrus 4344 DAC can operate at 3.3V and at 5V. At 5V operation, you get 2 dB better performance pretty much across the board.

The current operation of the D3 (original model), seems to be operating at 3.3v since the input voltage to the device is 5V.

However, by measuring the voltage on the power pin of the DAC (VA, Pin 9), the DAC is actually operating at 4.8V which is pretty much ideal for best performance.

In addition, the output stage opamp is also operating at the same 4.8V. Therefore, there is no need to do any modding to get better performance.

But a good and easy mod here is the input capacitor. Space is very tight, must use similar sized capacitor. Used a standard class ELNA 1000 uF capacitor, bypassed with a 22nF film cap. The original was 470 uF, 16V.

Detail after removing existing capacitor

After the large capacitor, power goes through a ferrite, then it is bypassed by two small value ceramic capacitors and connects to V+ in the opamp

Detail after replacing capacitor and bypassed with film cap

Update 8/9/12:

NEW VERSION: D3K TAISHAN

WM8805 replaced by Cirrus CS8416

As FIIO shared when they first introduced the D3, the WM8805 (perhaps) has been discontinued and they have replaced the chip with the CS8416. This is the new “D3K TAISHAN” model. (Taishan as in “Mount Tai”, a famous place in China where emperors used to worship the heaven and to pray for peace and prosperity)

A reader shared and internal photo (see comment #40):

Comparing with the original version, the layout has been completely redesigned. The DAC and the opamp remains the same.:

Backside of D3K Taishan edition. Date is 11 months after the original V1 version.

D3V2?

Same reader alerted me that there is “in-between” version between the original D3 and the new D3K. We call it D3V2. This version uses the WM8805 part but there are omitted components in (what I believe) is the power section for the opamp. You can check the comments for comments about the performance of this version.

I’ve made a composite image of the D3 Original and the “D3 V2” which is shown below:

Here is the backside of the D3 V2:

The case is identical with V1. In the V1, the RCA connectors are silver color. The RCA connectors in V2 are gold plated. (V2 is the one to avoid)

***

Update 2/14/12: More information on the DAC, I2S to External DAC, see end of this post

***

WM8805-BASED DAC FOR $30

I was intrigued by this DAC based on the industry-leading Wolfson SPDIF receiver WM8805. According to the specifications it is capable of 24bit/192KHz operation and it only costs $30. (Even less nowadays)

Just like any good DIYer, the first thing I did was to take it apart…

Main Components

The famous Wolfson WM8805 SPDIF receiver. Even though it is capable of muxing up to 8 SPDIF sources, it is configured in hardware mode and therefore it is configured to have a single input into the receiver. The device has a coax and a toslink input and these are selected with a single pole  switch. Notice also the use of a seam-sealed crystal instead of the more traditional can (most likely for size).

The WM8805 interfaces a Cirrus Logic 4344 DAC (“344” indicates fixed I2S configuration). This DAC has pretty decent specs at 105 db SNR and -90 db THD+N, a cut above the DACs found in this price range (in reality, you can’t find any DACs at this price range which is a new low). The CS4344 DAC is also found in the Apple Airport Express 802.11n version.

The analog output of the DAC connects to a TI LMV358 opamp

You can see the I2S lines (the 4 diagonal traces), ready to be tapped…

Power Section

The power is supplied by an external 5V DC switching  supply through a standard mini-USB connector. The 5V line (the uppermost trace from the USB connector) connects to a 6.8 (R37) ohm resistor and to the main PS capacitor (470 uF 16V). This provides a first stage RC filtering to the incoming power.

The 5V incoming is filtered through L5 and  further regulated with a simple discrete Zener diode circuit (basically a shunt regulator) to 3.3V which feeds the DVDD (pin 1, digital core suppy) of the WM8805. This is pretty good filtering and regulation. This line also feeds PVDD (Pin 11, PLL supply) filtered through L2, and feeds the Toslink module through L1. Good use of ferrites for noise filtering.

The zener regulated line also feeds the DAC, with a simple cap bypass. The 102 resistor you see in the photo powers the LED to show Power-on condition.  One of the advantages of the 4344 DAC is that it requires minimal external components. In the case of power, it only has a single power line.

I2S to External DAC

Linux-works has connected the I2S lines to a PCM 5102 DAC. In this case, only 3 lines plus GND are needed since the DAC does not require a master clock connection

More on the CS 4344 DAC

The CS 4344 DAC is not a very popular DAC among audiophiles. It is used in the Apple Airport Express (the 10-legged device near the center of the photo), a device not always appreciated by audio enthusiasts.

The New (2012) Airport Express changed to a new DAC:

According to RogueAmoeba:

More pertinent to our customers, the audio digital to analog converter is an all-new 24-bit/192khz Asahi Kasei AKM4430. This chip is similar to the Cirrus Logic CS4344 used in the previous model, but should be a improvement over the Burr-Brown PCM2705 used in the original 802.11g Airport Expresses

The CS4344 is also used in the iQube V2 DAC/headphone Amp. This DAC/AMP was designed by Guido Tent and Bruno Putzeys [link], which are highly regarded people among the audio community.

And also used in the FubarIV Plus [link].

More on the OPAmp

A user reported changing the opamp to a AD8656 with great results. The AD8656 is also a recommended component of the Gamma-2 DAC  and it can be used to drive headphones directly. The OPA2209 is also another pin-compatible rail-to-rail opamp with even better noise specification than the AD part. It is used in TPA’s Trident shunt regulator.

Comparison of TI LMV358 with AD8656 and with OPA2209

Parameter TI LMV358
AD8656 OPA2009
Input offset (max)
9 mV 0.25 mV
0.035 mV
CMRR (typical)
65 dB
100 dB
120 dB
Input Voltage Noise Density
39 nV/sqrHz
4 nV/sqrHz
2.2 nV/sqrHz
slew Rate
1 V/usec
11 V/usec
6.4 V/usec
Price
~$.95
~$3.40
~$4.29

 

Additional Reading

An excellent report on the device with high resolution photos (very nice photos), extensive measurements and listening impressions [link].

  1. June 25, 2011 at 05:29

    Great pics! Not exactly an ‘audiophile’ product with that opamp but I can see it becoming popular with diy/tweakers as a quick and cheap way to get access to decent (low-jitter) I2S. The WM8805 has a very good reputation so that alone could win it many friends.

  2. BlogGeanDo
    June 26, 2011 at 05:58

    Hello Richard, Good enough for $30! 🙂

  3. June 27, 2011 at 02:42

    Yeah, its a really attractive price. A Taobao kind of price 🙂 Excellent find.

  4. June 27, 2011 at 02:46

    Yesterday though I found a DAC on Taobao which is even cheaper still. Its only a PCB and seems to have no power supply connector. But its under $8, so who can complain?

    http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=5096898989

    The guy selling it is in my city, so perhaps I need to befriend him 🙂

  5. BlogGeanDo
    June 27, 2011 at 04:53

    Are you trying to save the 12 yuan shipping? :-).
    Yes, give them some tips on building better kits…

  6. June 27, 2011 at 11:45

    Yeah I was thinking maybe if I design something, he might build it for me very cheaply…. he must by components at amazingly cheap prices to sell a DAC for 49.5rmb

  7. goldkenn
    July 9, 2011 at 03:26

    Are you sure the 8805 is congif as hardware mode by only because having a manuel selection input? Since as far as I knoe, 8805 will not sypport 192K and no PLL de-jitter function at hardware mode, but refer the D3 information, it does support 192K and did active the PLL

  8. BlogGeanDo
    July 9, 2011 at 15:34

    Yes, it is in hardware mode. There are several indications: there is no uP on board, the pins for i2c are grounded, the switch is a toggle between the two lines…

  9. September 17, 2011 at 06:13

    Really nice article on the D3 there.

  10. niksego
    October 16, 2011 at 04:41

    Simple question about the D3 operation. Hope you can help.

    Purchased the D3 to convert digital audio from a TV to analog for surround sound system.

    The D3 powers ok. The red power light comes on upon connection to the USB power supply. Manual says that blue signal light ON means its working. It currently lights up red. I cannot get any sound through my surround speakers.

    However, when I unplug the USB power supply and re-insert it, I see a quick flicker of blue before it turns red. Happens each time I do that.

    I am not sure if the “locked” blue light is supposed to be ON no matter the audio cable connections to and from the D3 or if it only comes on when everything is connected correctly and there is digital audio feed to the D3 and analog audio from it.

    In other words,what are the conditions for the blue “locked” light to come on. And why do you think it flickers when the power is connected? Could the unit be defective?

    Thanks
    Nick

    • BlogGeanDo
      October 16, 2011 at 05:48

      Make sure you are sending stereo and not 5.1. The D3 can only receive stereo signals

      • October 28, 2011 at 17:40

        You, sir, are a bloody genius. Thanks.

    • Miguel
      October 5, 2012 at 22:42

      Did it work? I was looking to buy it to play music and surround sound from my ps3, but have some doubs if the surround works from optical to rca. I also heard the D3 distorts when selecting other than PCM sound.

  11. Jennifer
    December 6, 2011 at 11:19

    I am running this FIIO D3 DAC with a 12v Pyramid 3A regulated power supply ($23 on amazon) along with an LM7805 5v voltage regulator and .1 uF cap on output voltage.

    It sounds MUCH better than the stock switching power supply it comes with. Clearer, more separation, less muddy.

  12. February 7, 2012 at 19:30

    hey there, linux-works here 😉

    I tried your idea of tapping into i2s. success!

    DIY: pcm5102 burr-brown DAC and Wolfson wm8805 spdif receiver

    testing a new (to me) dac chip, the pcm5102.

    in a pinch, and IF you can tap into traces that small, its a good i2s source. not recommended for the fat wires I used, though, lol!

    • BlogGeanDo
      February 7, 2012 at 23:35

      Hey linux-works good to see you here. Glad to see you got it to work. I will add your photo to this post (thanks in advance :-)). Also that new preamp of yours, really good looking.

  13. anthony
    February 8, 2012 at 05:24

    If anyone is curious in upgrading the TI LMV358 opamp, there are several 8 pin opamps available in the same pin configuration which will work as a drop in replacement. I upgraded mine with a AD8656 which operates nicely at 5v.

    Be careful removing the LMV358 however as initially I was not being very careful and my soldering pads started to break apart. I would recommend just clipping the pins the best you can and soldering the new chip over top rather than trying to remove each pin.

    • BlogGeanDo
      February 15, 2012 at 08:26

      Anthony, you got a photo of your mod?

      • anthony
        February 18, 2012 at 07:25

        sorry I dont have a pic of the mod. I am planning on modding another one in the near future and will take a picture when doing so.

    • Milos
      February 17, 2012 at 17:54

      Wow, thanks for a great idea. Did you notice an audible improvement? If it’s only marginal I won’t bother but otherwise it sounds like a good idea.

      • anthony
        February 18, 2012 at 07:27

        I dont have a side by side comparison so it is difficult for me to say. The modded DAC sounds quite good though.

    • Milos
      February 18, 2012 at 19:37

      The LMV358’s slew rate of 1V/us looks to be just good enough to handle CD quality audio. Looking at the AD8656 specs, its slew rate is superior (although I don’t claim to hear frequencies above 20 kHz) and its THD+N looks amazing (which is IMO the most important parameter). I will give this a shot. If I manage to damage the board, what the hell… given its price I might just order a new one.

  14. February 16, 2012 at 11:55

    Very good article !
    I own a D3 connected to a little E5 headphone amplifier, and it work very well through TosLink cable. I power the D3 with a single Lipo battery (3.6 .. 4.2 V), the blue led is not so bright, but it work perfect.

    • Tom
      April 28, 2012 at 22:32

      Is the sound clearer than with the power adapter?

  15. Ashley Doyle
    March 14, 2012 at 13:26

    I did the AD8656 mod using a Chipquik SMD Removal Kit other than having to
    reheat the pins a few times to seat the pins eaiser than i thought.

    • BlogGeanDo
      March 14, 2012 at 15:43

      Send me a photo of the mod: hifiduino -at- yahoo

  16. Anonymous
    April 29, 2012 at 15:32

    The noise voltage and slew rate specs for the op amp are reversed.

    • BlogGeanDo
      April 30, 2012 at 01:39

      Thanks for the catch. Corrected…

  17. Tom
    May 4, 2012 at 23:50

    Hello, I have power supply question. I have an old computer power supply laying around which has a 5v lead. Would this be better then the one which comes with the unit? Thanks.

    • BlogGeanDo
      May 6, 2012 at 01:31

      Likely not better. If you have a 5V linear supply (those that weigh more because it has a transformer), then you might get improvements

  18. ruin
    July 6, 2012 at 08:50

    Did anyone who changed the op-amp notice any difference in the highs, or do an RMAA? Is the roll-off further up the chain?

    • Emerge
      July 10, 2012 at 19:54

      I changed the op-amp with AD8656 and did RMAA. The frequency response starts to fall off from 500hz. At 10.000hz its almost -15dB. Something is definitely wrong!

  19. Anonymous
    July 8, 2012 at 18:34

    The link to the alternate op amp should be updated to http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/AD8656ARZ/AD8656ARZ-ND/998010 to match the package in the d3. The existing link is for the MSOP size.

  20. ruin
    July 14, 2012 at 23:05

    Emerge :
    I changed the op-amp with AD8656 and did RMAA. The frequency response starts to fall off from 500hz. At 10.000hz its almost -15dB. Something is definitely wrong!

    Wow… That my RMAA finds the stock starting to drop around 3k, at less than -1dB at 10k, and -3dB at 20k.

    • Thomas O.
      August 9, 2012 at 01:03

      Well, I tested my fresh fiio D3 with RMAA and it’s horrible! I really noticed the audio getting muffled when plugging a Lindy A/D and the fiio D/A into an analog chain (ground-free transport over optical).

      Checked with RMAA, I can confirm -15 dB at 10 kHz! By switching around with the converters and the ins/outs of my USB interface (Alesis io|2) I could isolate the fiio as the main culprit.

      Have a look at http://thomas.orgis.org/div/fiio-spectrum.png .

      Since I already did order the AD8656, I would like to know what is causing this extremely bad sound — I have to assume it is not the stock opamp, but something else that’s broken. Something simple like a bad 470 uF cap? Is there a good and a bad production batch floating around? My board differs at least in the color of the RCA block (see http://thomas.orgis.org/div/fiio-board.png).

      • Thomas O.
        August 9, 2012 at 09:11

        Quick followup on myself: Updated the pic to show sloppy soldering on the underside and had a closer look at the upside: The color of the connectors is not the important difference, but the lack of the whole circuity near the cap is appaling. No diode, no transistors … What’s up with that? Was that stuff redundant? I don’t see other severe changes in the design. I don’t have much experience with audio electronics, but something tells me that this could be correlated with a now sub-optimal lowpass filter.

        (The 470 uF cap just jumped into my eye, because I had serveral device failures because of bad caps in the past … but it’s not part of the output stage here.)

        Emerge: Is your fiio also of the “D3MO2” variant and has those vacant spots?

      • BlogGeanDo
        August 11, 2012 at 02:43

        My board has those pads populated. I couldn’t figure out what kind of circuitry that was, but I suspect it is to regulate the power to the opamp. I am not sure what is the effect of omitting those components.

      • BlogGeanDo
        August 11, 2012 at 02:40

        Thanks for the links to the photos. I just pulled your comment out of moderation

  21. Thomas O.
    August 10, 2012 at 22:25

    Hm, my first reply is stuck in moderation, perhaps because of the pictures of rev2 I linked in. I just want to give an update about the current, third, revision: The FiiO D03K. The spectrum looks a lot better for that one; basically flat from 50 Hz to 10 kHz; going towards +-0.5 dB around 10 Hz / 20 kHz.

    A little bummer might be that they changed the receiver chip: It’s a CS8416 now. I also don’t see an external crystal. I’m not sure that this is a downgrade (as many folks seem to believe); that chip costs more than twice as much as the Wolfson around here (and about half the price of the D03K unit).

    Interested in pictures of the board? I’m not adding any links here yet to avoid the void of moderation. And, well, perhaps you’ll want to check out one for yourself anyway;-)

    But the dreadful second revision goes back to sender stante pede!

    • BlogGeanDo
      August 11, 2012 at 02:44

      Yes, photos or links would be nice. I read somewhere that the wolfson part was being discontinued, I think that is the reason they switched to the cs device

    • Anonymous
      August 24, 2012 at 12:30

      I’m not very happy about the D03K, the sound is missing in details…but I’ve not a direct comparison with previous version. I’m wondering why FiiO has changed something which was working pretty well (at least considering the reviews)…

  22. ruin
    August 14, 2012 at 04:27

    Thomas O. :
    Quick followup on myself: Updated the pic to show sloppy soldering on the underside and had a closer look at the upside: The color of the connectors is not the important difference, but the lack of the whole circuity near the cap is appaling. No diode, no transistors … What’s up with that? Was that stuff redundant? I don’t see other severe changes in the design. I don’t have much experience with audio electronics, but something tells me that this could be correlated with a now sub-optimal lowpass filter.
    (The 470 uF cap just jumped into my eye, because I had serveral device failures because of bad caps in the past … but it’s not part of the output stage here.)
    Emerge: Is your fiio also of the “D3MO2″ variant and has those vacant spots?

    So I just opened mine, and I have D3M02 with those pieces missing. I don’t see the loss.

  23. August 22, 2012 at 02:58

    I’ve got one of these (at last!) and I’m using it to feed I2S to my prototype ‘LAID’ DAC. It didn’t sound as good initially as when I was using a DIR9001. But that was running from a linear PSU and the D3 comes with a switcher. Here’s the rub – the switching PSU sucks! Even though I’m not using the analog outs, changing to a locally regulated linear supply makes a worthwhile improvement to the ease of the sound. I’m guessing the SMPSU is spraying common-mode noise throughout my DAC.

    • BlogGeanDo
      August 24, 2012 at 16:21

      Hi Richard, hopefully you got the one with the wolfson chip. Thanks for sharing your projects.

      • August 24, 2012 at 16:31

        Yes, that’s the chip I wanted. I was puzzled to hear it was going out of production because over on Wolfson’s website they give no indication at all that its ‘NRND’.

      • BlogGeanDo
        August 24, 2012 at 19:39

        I should have said “perhaps been discontinued”. I can’t find the reference, but I do remember that Fiio indicated that the wolfson chip would be discontinued later.

  24. Anonymous
    August 24, 2012 at 19:37

    Thanks for this great review!
    Is there any reason to use the E3 between the digital out of my airport express and Audioengine A5s (analog input)? You said they both have the same DAC so it doesn’t seem like the sound would be any different than using the Airport Express miniplug out into the Audioengine powered monitors.

  25. Anonymous
    August 24, 2012 at 19:44

    oops I meant D3

    • Fernando
      September 26, 2012 at 23:47

      I would appreciate if someone could answer this, I have the same doubt…

  26. September 27, 2012 at 03:18

    The sound you get is only partly determined by what DAC chip you use (assuming its not a multibit chip, which has a rather different kind of sound). Rather its more to do with noise and an external DAC has the chance of having its signal being less corrupted by noise than one in a digital product like the Airport Express. This is especially true if the optical connection is being used.

    • Fernando
      September 27, 2012 at 04:19

      Thanks Richard!

  27. Marcelo
    November 23, 2012 at 03:15

    This would help me a lot!
    I´ve just find out that I own the D3 V2 (the one to avoid). I´m converting from the AppleTV TOS output to the analog output. I noticed that the sound quality is not too good. The sound does not present a clear quality. The high frequencies are terrible. The question is if I got the original one will I get the sound quality improved. Thanks.

  28. scott17
    November 23, 2012 at 18:19

    I have the D3v2. I changed the op amp to the AD8656, and the electrolytic to a Nichicon KA series audio cap bypass with a Wima 0.022uF.

    In my case I also replaced the zener 3.3V regulator with an ST Microelectronics LE33CZ 3.3V regulator.

    If anyone else wants to do this, you must remove the zener as well as the two 75 ohm paralleled resistors that are connected to the cathode of the zener. Then you connect the ground of the LE33CZ to the pad where the anode of the zener was, the “in” of the regulator goes to where the two 75 ohm resistors were, nearest the edge of the circuit board. The “out” of the LE33CZ goes to the pad where the cathode of the zener was.

    So far so good.

    • scott17
      November 24, 2012 at 15:45

      After listening to this with the mods, I can say that the stereo separation and “spaciousness” (for lack of a better word), has definitely improved.

      • BlgGear
        November 24, 2012 at 16:14

        Thanks for sharing. Any photos posted somewhere?
        I have the V1 with basic capacitor mods. Almost indistinguishable from the analog outputs of a DENON DVD/SACD player through an NAD amp and bookshelf speakers…

      • scott17
        November 24, 2012 at 16:48

        I should have taken photos when I did the mods. I’ll open it and take a couple of photos in the next couple of days. I must admit it was a little tricky replacing the op amp.

        How would I post the photos here?

      • BlgGear
        November 24, 2012 at 17:37

        Thanks. If you post them elsewhere, I can just grab them or send them to me: hifiduinoatyahoo

    • osexpert
      January 1, 2013 at 17:07

      Don’t understand why changing op amp should matter, since the v1 uses the same op amp and has no problem? I have the v2 and all treble is missing. I have done the caps mods but no change (did not expect any either, since v1 uses same caps and don’t have the problem). Wondering about buying the v3 but FiiO doesn’t deserve it when making such a crappy v2.

      • Marcelo
        January 1, 2013 at 22:46

        I do have the v2 and the treble is really missing. I bought the v3 and the sound is much better than the V2. I highly recommend buy another one. I was wondering to perform the op amp changes but now, will not spend my time on that. The 1st Christimas at my home with the v3, Apple TV and Bose speakers were great.

      • BlgGear
        January 2, 2013 at 18:09

        I have a V1, so no experience with V2 or V3. Perhaps the different perceptions are due to age. I know my kids have a much higher sensitivity for high frequencies…

      • osexpert
        January 4, 2013 at 18:59

        I mapped the circuit between dac and op amd and frequency simulation show the same plot as in comment #41: https://www.circuitlab.com/editor/#tu2ujy
        Trial and error’ed new values for the low pass caps until simulation looks good, but have not tested in real life (yet). Have ordered the D3v3, will update circuit when I get it.

      • BlgGear
        January 5, 2013 at 04:28

        Thanks for sharing. I like the on-line circuit simulator.

      • osexpert
        January 8, 2013 at 20:42

        Desoldered the 4 low pass caps and this fixed problem with missing treble. Removing low pass mean freq. above 20kHz won’t be filtered, but haven’t had any problems.
        http://flic.kr/p/dJDU3e

      • BlgGear
        January 8, 2013 at 20:57

        Very nice detective work! Easy fix to those having V2. I’ll do a post about this fix…

      • osexpert
        January 8, 2013 at 23:47

        If you wait til I get the D3v3 I will have an updated circuit diagram and hopefully discover correct values for the caps, in case anyone want to take on the challenge of not just desoldering the bad caps, but also replacing them with correct caps:-) (I will probably attempt doing this, just for the heck of it).

      • Marcelo
        January 9, 2013 at 00:52

        I did the cap removal and it works very well. Now I have the V2 and V3 and there is no perceptive sound difference between both. The treble is there!!

      • BlgGear
        January 9, 2013 at 01:41

        V2 still has the WM8805 which has better jitter specifications…

      • osexpert
        January 9, 2013 at 21:24

        Got the D3v3 and I’m completely confused. Treble sounds ok. Circuit seems to be the same as D3v2 and all caps are the same, except the low pass caps between dac and op amp: they were 10nF but is now 5.4nF. I am confused because freq. simulation of the circuit does not improve when changing cap from 10nF to 5.4nF, and I was soo convinced the simulation showed the real thing. I measured the 4 caps I desoldered and found all to be 10nF! I should have known that measuring caps in-circuit is not reliable… I resoldered the 2 caps on the D3v2 that I previously thought was 26 nF, and the treble seem to be ok (will do more listening tests), so I was probably fooled by the freq. simulation. It may seem it’s only necessary to desolder the 2 caps close to the op amp (sorry to those who desoldered all 4). The next and last thing I will do is solder 5.4nF caps on the D3v2 (those 2 caps close to op amp) to check if what I think is correct.

      • BlgGear
        January 9, 2013 at 23:55

        A 500 ohm and 10 nF RC filter has a cutoff at 30+KHz… should not be a problem. Thanks for reporting all of this. Very interesting

      • osexpert
        January 10, 2013 at 01:17

        5.4nF was another in-circuit measuring error. I desoldered and measured 130pF! That’s pretty close to my trial’n err’d value of 108pF. With the updated values the freq. simulations doesn’t look so bad after all! Updated schema: https://www.circuitlab.com/editor/#tu2ujy
        So it was in-circuit meas. that was the main confusion.
        Final solution is: remove, or optionally replace caps next to op amp from 10nF to 130pF: new picture: http://flic.kr/p/dKdzHP
        I might do the replacement some time in the future to verify.

      • BlgGear
        January 10, 2013 at 16:43

        So the caps in the low pass filter into the opamp were:
        V2: 10 nF
        V3: 130 pF
        What about the resistor of the LC filter. The same value for both V2 and V3 at 10 Kohm?

        How about the low pass filter after the opamp? Seems ok with R=500 ohm and C= 10 nF (gives you cutoff at 30+KHz)

        On V2: R=10K and C= 10nF the cutoff is: 1.5KHz! reducing C to 130pF, the cutoff is increased to 122KHz

      • osexpert
        January 10, 2013 at 18:26

        <>
        Yes.
        <>
        Yes.
        <>
        Yes. The v2 sounds fine with them soldered back on. AFAIK, both v2 and v3 have 10nF here since I measured the same in-circuit value of approx 24nF on both. I did not desolder on the v3 to verify real value thou.
        <>
        Formulas seem to say 130pF give 122kHz. For some reason the circuit freq. simulation does not agree, as it plot a cutoff at approx 20kHz with this value. Also a weird coincidence that the value I trial and error’d from the freq. simulation was so close to the real value.

        BTW: the circuit schema has most of this info.

      • osexpert
        January 17, 2013 at 16:47

        Didn’t find 130pF but RC formula says 31.8kHz cutoff with 10k need 500pF, so I guess anything between 130pF and 500pF is ok. I fitted 250pF and didn’t notice any difference in treble. Game over.

      • BlgGear
        January 17, 2013 at 17:17

        Thanks for getting to the bottom of this problem and sharing your results. This post gets a lot of traffic. I am sure a lot of people will be thankful for your info.

  29. Marcelo
    November 27, 2012 at 21:15

    Based on the comments what´s the best one? The original V1 or the Taishan V3? As I said, I have the V2 and I´m very disapointed with the sound quality. I will buy another one. V1 or V3?

    • BlgGear
      November 28, 2012 at 17:00

      I don’t have experience with the V3, but as you can see in the photos, they have rearranged the circuitry quite a bit, to accommodate the new receiver chip and perhaps optimize the layout. If you care about having the well regarded WM8805 receiver chip, then get the V1. However, at this level of price and performance, I doubt there is a difference in sound between V1 and V3

      • Anonymous
        December 1, 2012 at 02:23

        My experience with the D3 V2 is that I did not have any complaints with the stock unit that I received. After the mods it has definitely improved with regards to clarity and soundstage. Even though I have 56 year old ears, I’ve been a musician for about 40 years, I design and build top end hi-fi tube amps, and have been a discerning listener for a long time.

  30. December 1, 2012 at 03:03

    I don’t know why my ID did not appear, but this was posted by scott17.

    Anonymous :
    My experience with the D3 V2 is that I did not have any complaints with the stock unit that I received. After the mods it has definitely improved with regards to clarity and soundstage. Even though I have 56 year old ears, I’ve been a musician for about 40 years, I design and build top end hi-fi tube amps, and have been a discerning listener for a long time.

  31. Anonymous
    January 1, 2013 at 22:57

    I have the V2 and mine sounded fantastic when it was stock, even better after the mods.
    Maybe there was a bad production run.

    • formatthias
      January 14, 2013 at 21:26

      I modded the dac with ad8656. It is really better than the cheap TI one. Not so midcentric and non detailed.;)

  32. alex
    January 22, 2013 at 16:36

    osexpert :
    5.4nF was another in-circuit measuring error. I desoldered and measured 130pF! That’s pretty close to my trial’n err’d value of 108pF. With the updated values the freq. simulations doesn’t look so bad after all! Updated schema: https://www.circuitlab.com/editor/#tu2ujy
    So it was in-circuit meas. that was the main confusion.
    Final solution is: remove, or optionally replace caps next to op amp from 10nF to 130pF: new picture: http://flic.kr/p/dKdzHP
    I might do the replacement some time in the future to verify.

    As a V2 owner with treble problem, I’ve followed your advice and removed the two caps.
    Frequency response is now flat and treble is back. Confirmed by a RMAA test.
    A side effect though: dynamic range went from 92dB down to 82dB according to the RMAA before/after test. Noise level and crosstalk increased also. THD has decreased a bit.
    So was this mod worth it?
    Any suggestions?

    • osexpert
      January 22, 2013 at 17:51

      Worth it? With the original 10nF caps the cutoff was 1.5kHz! It’s was like listening to music over a telephone line. If you ask this question I wonder if your FiiO v2 in fact had the problem (several say their FiiO v2 sounds ok).
      When you first have them caps desoldered: can you measure them?

      • alex
        January 22, 2013 at 19:52

        Of course, it was worth it! It sounds obviously better now!
        My D3 definitely had the problem and that’s why I was taken to this thread.
        Thanks a lot for your research and advice, BTW 🙂

        My question was more about the trade-off regarding dynamic range decrease… (According to RMAA measurements, I haven’t noticed this by myself)
        I certainly should have asked: Was this expected/expectable/normal?

      • osexpert
        January 23, 2013 at 01:14

        Sorry for jumping the guns. All the differences you measured were unexpected. Removing the 10nF caps should from my simple understanding only let higher freq. thru, but I’m guessing if the dac emit high freq. > 122kHz (can’t understand that it should thou) it may cause the op amp to distort. Suggestions: as said before, FiiO v3 use 130pF, so you can replace with that (or the next larger available eg. 150pF). This will prevent high freq. from entering the op amp and it might improve the measurements.

      • alex
        January 23, 2013 at 12:55

        I’ll post the detailed RMAA report ASAP.
        Yes, seems like the OP amp doesn’t like the mod. It sounds definitely better though, I didn’t notice anything bad at all (except the measurements).

        I don’t have anything to measure the capacitance of the removed caps and I don’t think I have the skill and tools to resolder such tiny caps without hurting something around :/
        The removal was the easiest part of it! 🙂

        Maybe a OP amp replacement like scott17 did would be easier and improve things?

        Anyway, I’m very satisfied with the improvement in sound at this point 😉

  33. January 25, 2013 at 03:42

    That’s all fine and well. Evidently, my D3 was not one of those affected with the treble response problem. Yes, the D3V2 does sound better with the new op amp and VR, However I recently purchased an Audioengine D1 and the difference in sound quality and response is nothing short of phenomenal. Not meaning to trash the thread here, but now I need to figure out how to make the D1 even better.

  34. Anonymous
    February 22, 2013 at 17:36

    Just bought the v3 and did the cap mod and changed the opamp to ad8656, sound very good ! Now may I ask where is the DC bypass cap and I want to remove them, because the ad8656 have a lot better DC offset than the TI one so I think it should be no problem, thanks.

  35. Tea
    February 22, 2013 at 17:37

    Just bought the v3 and did the cap mod and changed the opamp to ad8656, sound very good ! Now may I ask where is the DC bypass cap and I want to remove them, because the ad8656 have a lot better DC offset than the TI one so I think it should be no problem, thanks.

  36. Ralph
    March 21, 2013 at 19:45

    What’s your thoughts on sound quality of D3K? Any mods possible to upgrade the sound?

  37. April 5, 2013 at 05:41

    I just finished modding a D03KM02 with a TI OPA1602AID and a Nichicon KA 1000uF 16V. It’s faster, sweeter and tighter.

    • April 10, 2013 at 02:03

      OMG… I just tried out the mod above with a Fiio E12 and Shure SE-535. It’s like being on stage. The sound is clean, powerful, full, no hiss, just simply perfect. My source is an SPDIF out from my notebook computer playing FLAC files that I purchased from HDTracks.com. This is phenomenal. Hurry and do the same. You can’t lose.

      • BlgGear
        April 10, 2013 at 05:58

        Thanks for sharing. That opamp has real nice specifications.

      • wushuliu
        June 2, 2017 at 04:03

        I just replaced the stock opamp with the OPA1602 and so far it indeed a GREAT sounding opamp, far quieter than the stock with great inner detail without edginess. I think I now like this DAC as much as if not more than the Dragonfly Red. Well worth the $4…

  38. Progmeister
    September 2, 2013 at 12:57

    Hi I was wondering if it is worth trying a higher quality linear regulated power supply with the Fiio D3, and also can any one advise what the operating voltage range is as I have a power supply lying around which puts out 4.5v or 6 v which is the nearest it goes.

  39. Keroronsk
    July 1, 2014 at 14:28

    Hello. I’ve noticed mine d3 have some high frequency hissing if I set maximum volume on my amplifier. I’ve changed op amp (to OPA2209), replaced aluminium capacitor with tantalum one, and even tried to power d3 from battery pack instead line adaptor, still no luck. What else could be source of this hissing? Thanks.

    • BlgGear
      July 7, 2014 at 19:12

      I would guess the ground connections? Is the amp completely silent if you power off the DAC?

      • July 19, 2014 at 08:42

        Well, if I unplug reciever it will be silent. But if I plug in anything (FiiO, cell phone etc) this hissing returns.

      • BlgGear
        August 8, 2014 at 04:12

        So the hissing is not particular with the FiiO?. Try using a surge suppressor or power filter.

      • July 19, 2014 at 08:43

        If amp plugged into FIIO and no power at FiiO it also silent.

  40. PM
    January 26, 2015 at 04:20

    Does anyone happen to know which chipset (dac, spdif receiver, opamp) does the D07k use ?

  41. Andrea
    August 15, 2015 at 09:00

    what mod for a D03k taishin? anyone can tell me?

  42. August 24, 2017 at 23:48

    I bet top Facebook pros would like your page. Kudos. I wants to be a mentor in this subject. You remind me of my bestie back in Massachusetts.

  43. August 25, 2017 at 21:19

    Are there other websites you work on? I would like to be a teacher in this field someday. Certainly a lot of details to take into consideration. Thank you! This website looks just like my old one

  44. August 29, 2017 at 21:39

    Hey, that is a clever way of thinking about it. You have a good head on your shoulders. Well this is weird, when I opened my Iphone your page was running. Do not get afraid to spread your thoughts.

    • Anonymous
      August 30, 2017 at 02:27

      I am one of the originators of HTML Please contact me immediately for a one billion dollar opportunity.

  45. Azfar
    August 7, 2018 at 19:28

    any comments on D03k mod?

  46. Marco Marabelli
    August 21, 2018 at 22:35

    Hi there, this is Marco from Italy.

    Owner of a D3 rev.1, I have just “enclosed” it into a 43cm chassis (in which there is the PSU and various cables) and interposed it between a Philips DVD and my 6L6 SE amplifer.

    I’m interested to modify it. but no OpAmp changes or other things… just want to replace the power capacitor and the two crappy SMD output caps with (way !) better MKPs (Mudorf/Audyn)…
    I did a similar job (and other mods) years ago on several “Fenice20” T2024-based amplifers and they sounded excellently after this mod !

    Osexpert, I watched your diagram on “Circuit Lab” and see that one of those output cap is marked as “C5”, but watchin’on the board, I really can’t locate it, just like I can’t see the other output cap of the other channel…
    Could I ask if it’s possible for you to show where they are placed, please ?

    Best regards and thanks, anticipately,

    Marco

  47. November 10, 2018 at 05:24

    It’s exhausting to seek out educated individuals on this matter, however you sound like you recognize what you’re speaking about! Thanks

  48. VonD3
    August 26, 2020 at 12:59

    How many amps Fiio D3 uses at max? Is 500mA enough to run it correctly? And does anybody know is over 6 volts too much for this nice little thing? Im thinking to use regulated linear power supply or is there any advantage of using good regulated switching mode power supply with voltage step-down regulator (12v ->5v 3A USB power device) or LM317 ? I think Fiio D3 is very nice sounding unit, i got “essential edition” from Amazon with chinese made DAC chips! (?). Perhaps they run out of the original US made chips…?

  49. Đỗ Bảo
    December 8, 2022 at 06:43

    2022,

    • Đỗ Bảo
      December 8, 2022 at 06:47

      update 2022: WM8805= MS8416T, LMV358= SGM358YS… all in China.

  50. May 11, 2024 at 12:07

    This is a great posst

  1. December 1, 2012 at 17:56
  2. March 29, 2016 at 08:16

Leave a comment