Home > Amplification, POWER > Hypex UCD-180HG and Connex SMPS300RE

Hypex UCD-180HG and Connex SMPS300RE

December 14, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

(See update to listening impression)

Finally finished updating the power supply for my Hypex UCD amps. Each amp module was upgraded from a linear, unregulated power supply to a switched, regulated power supply from Connexelectronic. Even with all the debate between linear vs switching supplies, I think the power switching technology (and affordability of that technology) has finally caught up to the advantages of linear supplies (low noise) and surpasses them by providing regulation. Not to mention weight, size and efficiency. There is also no excuse not to try because Connex sells these modules under $60. Just the transformer for a linear supply of equivalent power would cost you more than that.

ORIGINAL CONFIGURATION

This is the original configuration for the UCD 180HG amp modules: ~40V unregulated linear supply, using a 150VA toroid transformer from Apex Jr, and a snubberized PS module from Chipamp. At that time, these cost me about $60 for each which coincidentally is the same price as the connex unit.

OldUCDAmp2

OldUDCAmp

This configuration has served me well for more than 5 years. It is a bullet-proof design, and have no complains about it.

THE NEW POWER SUPPLY MODULE

The new configuration uses a +/- 45v Resonant SMPS with regulated outputs, the 300RE. This is based on the latest resonant SMPS designs resulting in lower noise and higher efficiencies. I’ve described this PS in more detail in this post [link].

300RE-2

THE COMPLETED AMP

The Hypex modules are “far away” from the power supplies to avoid any interference. I’ve also installed a metal plate in between for further isolation.

DSC02662

Since the recycled case had too many holes in its face, I installed individual power switches for each of the power supply modules and also enable switches for each of the amp modules. These switches were already present in the old configuration so I just imported them here. In addition to allowing individual control of the amp modules and PS modules, these switches were useful while I was building up the amp for testing and safety.

The PS modules have been set for exactly +/- 45V operation which is the specified recommended “typical” operating voltage for the amp modules. The output voltage can be adjusted approx +/- 10%.

DSC02680

I followed the hookup configuration of the data sheet, which includes fuses for the positive and negative DC power lines for protection of the amps and the speakers.

DSC02674

UCD180Connection

DSC02667

Chinese binding pots from eBay… Pretty good looking and they are “fat” making them very easy to use.

DSC02676

The PS modules each incorporate input (and output) EMI filters, thus no additional filtering is necessary. However, I added a cable ferrite which seems to be “standard practice” for switching supplies.

DSC02678

I use the AUX supply just to power an LED :-).

DSC02681

The Hypex UCD180HG modules.

DSC02671

DSC02674

These were the original version of the “HG” models. I believe the current version has a revised PCB and the maximum voltage also increased. According to the datasheet of this original model [UcD180HG_datasheet2] the operating voltage range is as follows:

UCDOperatingRange

45V is likely the optimum PS supply voltage as the performance data is based on this value.

DSC02684

Input signals are carried by trusted Cat5E patch cables. I also have a passive RC filter currently configured with a -3db cutoff at approx 75KHz. The reason for this filter is because I use the Buffalo II DAC in voltage-out mode connecting straight to the Amp. The values are R=220 ohm, C=10 nF

rclowpass

I may adjust the filter to the values used by the Legato I/V which I believe has a cut off frequency of 400KHz.

DSC02686-001

Doesn’t look too bad even…

DSC02690

Got to find something to put in those 3 empty holes 🙂

DSC02688

HOW DOES IT SOUND?

It was imperative that I finish the amps for proper listening with the Amanero USB interface (which quickly made playing DSD files from a computer an affordable reality). My queue of projects (Ian’s FIFO bard, the new AVCC supply for the Buffalo DAC) also requires a proper working listening environment. Previously I had disassembled one amp in preparation of the power supply update and for a while had been “listening” to different experiments with just one channel.

Anticipating the sound of the “new amp”, my own experience tells me that changes in the audio path are often subtle and big differences are far in between  and in general, I also think not having inflated expectations and not rushing in trying the latest and greatest allow me to be more objective in perceiving any changes. Thus for this power supply upgrade, I did not expect any big changes in the sound.

After only one listening session, I was pleasantly surprised!

Upon powering the amp and playing the first track, I immediately noticed the huge “surrounding” soundstage. Hmmm, this is weird. OK, fixed that. I had switched the channels :-). Play again…

This time I noticed the soundstage again. From memory, I did not recall ever experiencing the soundstage this way (maybe this is somewhat related to having listening to one channel for a while but…). Certainly it was not this expansive, not this large, not this 3D. Yes the speakers disappeared, but now the speakers disappeared even more:-). Pinpointing my attention to the speakers, no sound was coming out at that location at all. This sounds really, really good. Play more tracks…

The bass was also different. Now it was more controlled. I played and compared tracks where from memory I thought the bass was a bit booming. Now they sounded more controlled, more defined. The “boominess” was gone.

The rest of the audio spectrum seemed the same as before, perhaps a tad more “crispiness” in the higher frequencies, but can’t tell for sure.

Overall, music appeared more dynamic. Perhaps the additional headroom (45V supply vs the old 40V supply) combined with a better bass definition creates that perception. The new PS can also deliver more power.

In summary, this has been one of the best upgrades I’ve had in my system. This is another indication that the quality the power you use is perhaps the most important ingredient for a good sounding system. Certainly it makes the obsession of tweaking of the power supply almost justifiable:-). It is the first time I have use a regulated power supply for an amplifier and it is certainly consistent with the trend in the audiophile community of migrating from linear-unregulated supplies to switching-regulated supplies. Hypex has purposely designed a switching supply for their latest NCore modules.

The Connexelectronic PS modules are not only very affordable, but incorporate the latest low noise SMPS soft-switched resonant technologies. In addition, the 300RE incorporates more filtering in the form of an output CLC network. If you have UCD180 amp modules or equivalent, this upgrade is highly recommended.

Update (12/15/12): False alarm!

The larger soundstage was caused by inverting the balanced connection for one of the channels. After listening for a while, I noticed that the soundstage was somewhat artificial. So I traced the speaker cables, the connections from the amp module to the speaker and finally the input to the amp modules. One of the input wires was reversed.

After fixing this error, the soundstage “collapsed”, but now more realistic. Now the soundstage is more or less the same as before. At the least this showed me how phase issues would sound like.

The bass did remain more controlled, but not as pronounced (not as tight?)  as before. Overall, still an improvement to the old PS and still highly recommended.

I did play a “silent” track to see if there is any noise coming from the amp: total silence. Increasing the volume to zero dB did show a faint hiss if one would press the ear to the speaker. But the hiss was coming from the DAC! The amp is totally silent.

FURTHER READING

Here is a similar project using the SMPS500 with the UCD400: http://diyclassd.blogspot.fr/

Impressions shared in diyaudio:

[link] I exchanged in my power amp with two Hypex UCD400HG modules the two 1KW toroid transformers and the New Class D PSU with split foil caps to two SMPS500R.

What is the difference, in my opinion not so much. Maybe the bass has a little bit more pressure but it is only a feeling. For the rest everything is the same like before.

For that reason the SMPS500R stays in. These things are absolute quiet and the best of all they save energy without any compromise in sound quality.

A SMPS300 + UCD180 Kit (illustrated build guide) [link]

  1. Anonymous
    December 14, 2012 at 23:11

    Good stuff! Do try to upgrade to NCores at some point. You won’t regret it. 😉

    • BlgGear
      December 15, 2012 at 16:35

      I am waiting for Santa 🙂

  2. December 15, 2012 at 09:03

    Anonymous :
    Good stuff! Do try to upgrade to NCores at some point. You won’t regret it.

    +1

    The Ncores are the best upgrade to my system ever, used with the SMPS600 of course.

    I totally agree on your point of view that not rushing in trying the latest and greatest will make you be more objective to any changes, although it is sometimes very tempting to do otherwise 🙂

    • BlgGear
      December 15, 2012 at 16:40

      Hi Corpius, I am waiting for the “low cost NCore” :-). Saw the photo of your finished controller board. Very nice!, especially mounted on the back of the LCD

      • December 15, 2012 at 18:15

        The Ncores are indeed a bit more expensive, but worth it to me. Before the Ncores I used a Linn Exotic pre-am[ and Linn Majik 2100 power amp. I’m not going to tell you how much they have costed, but you get my point. The Ncores are many times cheaper and also better 😉 thus worth every penny to me

        Thanks for the compliments. I just added some pics of the populated board. I’ll also write an article for my website soon.

        Cheers!

      • BlgGear
        December 15, 2012 at 19:24

        I see, you are coming down from the stratosphere; I am barely lifting up 🙂
        ESS DAC with volume control with direct connection to the Ncores is probably the best there is…

  3. David Quayle
    December 15, 2012 at 10:37

    I’d love to try the Ncore upgrade but I have an amp for each driver which means I’d need 6 Ncores’ I’ll have to take another lotto ticket.

  4. Anonymous
    December 19, 2012 at 17:46

    HI BlgGear

    Seems that Your pictures have lost their “magic”…
    Pity, have been fan of Your photo skillzzz…….

    Rosendorfer

    • BlgGear
      December 19, 2012 at 18:28

      Hi Rosendorfer, Merry Christmas!… getting old, getting old… But I can solder better now 🙂

  5. Anonymous
    December 21, 2012 at 15:17

    If so… then I will dare small advice …hope can do that …
    It’s about high time for some real !! Oscilloscope for You….
    Bet You would have TONS !!! of fun to play with the scope,
    Could see and share!!! very interesting and often very surprising things ….

    Well .. You know, one can buy himself Christmas present…. 🙂

    All The Best and Merry Christmas

    Rosendorfer

    P.S.
    Still fun of Your photo skillzzzzz…. 🙂

    • BlgGear
      December 21, 2012 at 19:31

      Have been contemplating a real scope. What is the minimum bandwidth you would recommend?

  6. rachmanto
    July 3, 2013 at 09:57

    Hi Mr. Hifiduino,
    I build similar UCD + SMPS300RE as your. I see from the photos that indirectly you ground the chassis to mains earth through the standoff of the SMPS (I do that too). I would like to know if you also connect the signal ground to the chassis as recommended by Hypex ?

    On mine, I don’t connect signal ground to chassis as I don’t feel comfortable to do that as it will also connect the signal ground to mains earth. There’s no hum or noise as it is, but do you think that by not following Hypex recommendation the sound will be degraded ?

    Thanks in advance

    • BlgGear
      July 3, 2013 at 17:51

      If you don’t hear hum, you are doing the right thing. There is no degradation…

  7. September 14, 2016 at 15:33

    how to make PayPal commissions

  8. September 14, 2016 at 15:38

    wp bacon

  9. September 14, 2016 at 15:58

    metatron cube

  10. September 14, 2016 at 16:21

    rolety katowice

  11. September 14, 2016 at 17:11

    Self Help

  12. September 14, 2016 at 18:38

    Anti aging

  13. September 14, 2016 at 19:26

    can I buy a hous with no credit Buckhead

  14. September 17, 2016 at 07:18

    I’m typically to blogging and i actually appreciate your content. The article has actually peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your site and maintain checking for brand spanking new information.

  1. December 1, 2021 at 20:12

Leave a comment