Home > DIY HiFi, TEST > Further Experimenting with SDTrans 3.0

Further Experimenting with SDTrans 3.0

Update (6/9/11): The latest version of the Hifiduino code with settings for the quantizer bit length greatly reduces this noise problem [link]

…Last day with SDTrans. My loan period is over😦

I would like to express my gratitude to Mr. Bunpei for graciously offering to loan me the latest version of the transport.

At the minimum, I had to try 24 Bit/352.8KHz  material. I downloaded B.Britten: Simple Symphony, Op. 4 – Boisterous Bourrée from 2L.

It played almost well with Buffalo II. It sounded BIG. Room filling BIG!. Very nice piece with great dynamics.

However, with Buffalo II 80 MHz, it showed some low level “crackle” noise when playing. When paused, there was a loud hiss which was independent of the volume setting.

A quick look at the SDTrans thread at diyaudio indicated that this is “normal” behavior (reported one year ago -I am way behind this ultra-hi-res audio :-)). The solution seems replacing the 80 MHz oscillator with a higher frequency one. The latest version of Buffalo II does come with a 100 Mhz oscillator.

Even so, Buffalo II was able to lock into the signal with “best” setting in the DPLL

Finally, I measured the LRCK signal for 352.8KHz with my new scope. The shape of the waveform is most likely due to the scope rather than SDTrans (still learning how to use the scope)

  1. Bunpei
    May 1, 2011 at 14:58

    If you want to listen to 2L DXD sources without noises on Buffalo II DAC with 80MHz oscillator, please set OSF/OFF mode on ES9018. I think you can easily set this using your wonderful hifiduino.

  2. Guglielmo
    May 30, 2011 at 11:25

    have you tested for the OSF/OFF mode?
    There is any lost of quality?
    Or is better to change the clock?

  3. Bunpei
    May 30, 2011 at 14:05

    Dear Guglielmo,

    These days, I used to listen to 2L DXD sources with OSF/OFF mode.
    I felt it was not so bad. But, I’m afraid that my result is rather subjective.
    I’d like to recommend you to try OSF/OFF mode first with 80 MHz clock.


  4. Alan
    January 8, 2013 at 13:44

    What oscilloscope is it you are using here. Looks nice. What is the brand and model and price ?

  5. September 14, 2016 at 17:17

    Download Expendables 3 HD

  6. September 14, 2016 at 17:53

    Lunatik coupons

  7. September 14, 2016 at 17:55

    hurtownia bizuterii sztucznej

  1. June 10, 2011 at 00:42
  2. August 16, 2011 at 17:44

Leave a Reply

