Home > DIY HiFi, USB AUDIO > Summary of Musiland Monitor 01 MINI MODS

Summary of Musiland Monitor 01 MINI MODS

Why Musiland 01-Mini?

Because it is the cheapest model (I paid US$ 60), and easiest to get to the I2S lines.

SUMMARY OF MODS (all easy to do)

  1. Enable SPDIF: link (The circuitry is already in the board, but requires installing a resistor to enable the spdif output. When you load the driver and the Musiland Mini is connected, you will see a SPDIF option)
  2. Tap I2S lines: link (avoid a conversion step)
  3. Disable DC-DC power supplies: link (cleaner data/clock lines). Before and after clock trace.
  4. Increase linear regulator capacitors: link (better power regulation)
  5. Added a (5V) power indicator LED (There are better ways to install the LED. For example, remove C60, install a surface mount resistor (500-1K ohm) on the power line leading to C60, and cut the power to the DC switching supplies near C12; then install LED in C60)
  6. (Planned) Add some ferrites to the USB power (remove potential high frequency noise/EMI from the laptop)
  7. (Not planned) You could replace the on-board regulators with low noise types like the LT1963, but that’s a lot more work.
  8. (Not planned) You could also replace the 24MHz crystal with a 24 MHz clock (but I’m not sure how much of an improvement that would be).

CLOCK AND JITTER

Clock generation in the Musiland device is explained here. I guess what leads some people to prefer the Hiface device over the Musiland device is the way the audio clocks are derived.

In the Musiland device, the 24.576MHz and 22.5792MHz clocks are derived by the DCM (digital clock managers) in the fpga by doing integer multiplication and division on a 24MHz clock. In addition, the frequencies are derived by cascading two DCMs.

The Hiface instead uses two clocks: 24.576MHz and 22.5792MHz and presumably these clocks must also be divided (integer division) by the fpga’s DCMs in order to get the right frequency for I2S and SPDIF (I am only guessing that the clocks are divided by the fpga as I don’t know for sure. I only know that the SPDIF frequency is much smaller -and thus you need to divide the frequency).

The resultant clock jitter in both devices is therefore the initial jitter of the incoming clock plus the jitter added from the DCMs. In theory, the Hiface implementation will result in lower jitter because the incoming clock is potentially of lower jitter and the frequency derivation is simpler (the argument here is that if one DCM is used instead of cascading two DCMs, the jitter is lower – I don’t know for sure how the Hiface is implemented, but for Musiland, there is evidence that the clocks are derived by cascading two DCMs)

DEVICE DRIVERS

The manufacturer is often improving the device driver. A new version improves upon the accuracy of the clock. Another newer driver adds HDCD decoding.

Drivers can be found here:

DOCUMENTATION

UPDATE: See here

  1. Mark D.
    June 23, 2010 at 17:57

    Hi! Thanks for this list of mods, I’ve done a couple of them (1,3,4), and also added a seperate 5V supply instead of the usb 5v power, and I disabled the red led in the headphone jacket.
    The spdif out is connected using the TwistedPear mux to the Buffalo II. It sounds really excellent! I paid just $50 for the thingy, so I’m a happy camper.
    Cheers!

  2. November 13, 2010 at 08:32

    I just got Musiland 01 USD and it was work as it should the SR Control will only work manual the little green auto box is gone can you help me
    thank you Robert

    • Hifiduino
      November 14, 2010 at 22:59

      Hello, I believe the automatic SR control only works in Windows XP. According to the Musiland forum, if you use Windows Vista or 7, then you have to change the SR manually.

  3. November 20, 2010 at 03:56

    Hi,
    Being that I’m a vinyl and new to using a computer for high end audio listening so I have Dell XPS M170 OS is XP with a Musiland Momitor 01 USD hook to a Zhaolu D2 DAC that said to be 24bit 192KHz so my problem is if I use a 75ohm coax cable it not send anything above 96KHz but with Optical toslink I can play back 176.4KHz prefect but I get noise at 192KHz this is with WDM used with itunes and ASIO with foobar any ideas I tied changing cables shorter longer and so on.So do I just go no higher than 96KHz or new Dac or ?
    thanks Robert

  4. November 20, 2010 at 03:57

    Hi,
    Being that I’m more into vinyl and new to using a computer for high end audio listening so I have Dell XPS M170 OS is XP with a Musiland Momitor 01 USD hook to a Zhaolu D2 DAC that said to be 24bit 192KHz so my problem is if I use a 75ohm coax cable it not send anything above 96KHz but with Optical toslink I can play back 176.4KHz prefect but I get noise at 192KHz this is with WDM used with itunes and ASIO with foobar any ideas I tied changing cables shorter longer and so on.So do I just go no higher than 96KHz or new Dac or ?
    thanks Robert

  5. Hifiduino
    November 21, 2010 at 06:44

    That is interesting. Typically, the coax will support up to 192 and the optical up to 96K. I have no problem with spdif all the way up to 192K and I am using two wires from the Musiland to the DAC (not even coax). But I am using a Musiland MINI.

  6. November 21, 2010 at 07:44

    Ya my thinking was that coax should do 192KHz without any problem and with my set up when I use coax I get no data from the Musiland 01 USD to the DAC the foobar play it.When I use my E-MU Tracker/pre/USB it plays eveything 44.1KHz to 192KHz without any problems so any ideas on what to try to get full play back .
    thanks Robert

  7. H J
    February 15, 2011 at 22:57

    Hi, I just bought the “new” mini whith optical out, but wonder if still could wire the coax out, as you did, and how to connect? Thanks

  8. BlogGeanDo
    February 15, 2011 at 23:57

    Let me check my board and I’ll get back…

  9. BlogGeanDo
    February 16, 2011 at 05:38

    You could connect to R22 next to label R22 or trace that connection to a pad under the board see: https://hifiduino.wordpress.com/2010/12/01/new-version-of-musiland-monitor-mini/

    • H J
      February 16, 2011 at 19:05

      Thanks for the info, should I remove the jack or somehow disable the optical in order to get best result from coax?

  10. BlogGeanDo
    February 16, 2011 at 22:58

    I don’t think it would matter. But if you want to experiment, you can try removing R22 and then add a resistor of equal value off board.

  11. monty99
    April 22, 2015 at 00:00

    Still no Mac driver then?

  12. September 14, 2016 at 14:48

    Garage Flooring Loveland

  13. September 14, 2016 at 18:32

    pro funds

  14. September 14, 2016 at 18:50

    bookkeeping nz

  1. May 9, 2011 at 16:55

Leave a Reply

