Home > Arduino, Code > S/W Control for ES9018K2M

S/W Control for ES9018K2M

Here is the initial public release of the s/w control code for the NEW ES9018K2M DAC [link]. This project was completed at this (early) time due to the insistence of “syllable” at diyaudio who is running a group buy for his DAC board [link].

Download the code here [link]

DSC04647

The code is based on the ES9018 code and supports revision V of the chip (“E” marking in the third row of the text). It is also based on the 5/15/14 version of the official data sheet (available through authorized distributors and under NDA)

NEW FEATURES

DSC04649

(As compared to what is available in the older ES9018 DAC)

  • Support for a minimum phase FIR filter
  • Support for separate DPLL settings for I2S and DSD (16 settings for each)
  • Support for FIR filter (oversampling) bypass AND IIR filter bypass
  • Exposed De-emphasis filters
  • Enabled balance control in 0.5 db increment

DSC04651

I will be using the diyinhk implementation of the ES9018K2M (it is already populated and ready to use. I realize that I am getting to lazy to start with bare boards and some the surface mount chips I cannot properly solder).

The power supply is an older quad-supply board also from diyinhk which I’ve hacked to also provide +/14.x v. in order to power the opamp

DSC04749

Using my latest favorite Arduino clone (only $10) [link]. The two small boards hanging on the pins are a LCD backlight control and a 5V to 3.3V level converter. As I realize that this audio diy hobby is never ending, I figure doing things the easy way trumps doing things the neat way (like for example using an Arduino shield) so I soldered the wires directly on pins that I plug into the board.

DSC04750

  1. 2014/06/13 at 16:27

    Thanks for posting this :) Can you access the I2C pins on the diyinhk-board? I have been thinking about buying it, but I can’t see from the board pics if it is possible to control via external SW?

    /U.

  2. BlgGear
    2014/06/13 at 17:29

    I have not done it yet, but yes, there is access to the I2C pins. I am waiting for the 5v to 3.3v level converter (the pins might be 5V tolerant, but the datasheet doesn’t say so) to connect it.

  3. danzup
    2014/06/18 at 10:04

    Thank you very much ! You are awesome , but you know this by now . danzup

  4. Somek
    2014/06/23 at 19:17

    How does it sound? I’m wondering if it is worth the price and how it stands up to competition.

    • BlgGear
      2014/06/24 at 06:19

      Still testing the code.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 202 other followers