Home > Arduino, Code, DIY HiFi > Hifiduino with VFD Display

Hifiduino with VFD Display

Mr. AR2 (diyaudio, http://www.burningamp.com) has implemented the code for his BII DAC but this time with a very cool looking VFD display. The display used is a drop-in replacement for the 20×4 LCD and requires no code modification. In addition, the superb photos you see here (click for larger photos) are by themselves a work of art. Mr. AR2 is a professional photographer.

Digital portion is housed in older Proceed case that I gutted and placed my parts inside. I used their PS for pre regulation, and than added the rest of my parts. I am using Arduino Uno to control DAC and I used VFD display. VFD display is fed by separate regulated 5V since it takes 250 – 300 mA. That is the existing one shown on the front panel board. VFD is Noritake CU20045 – UW5J which is from their series as direct LCD replacement, pin to pin.

Proceed had a lots of parts that I could use and I wanted to preserve their front plate with all moment switches and LEDs. So I made the opening to protrude VFD screen in the place where there was original screen, and I paced a another board on the back of that. That is where I positioned Arduino and did all connections for rotary encoder, IR diode and switch.

This implementation is part of the project I have been working on last several months. It uses Titan USB to I2S converter. Titan is manufactured by LightHarmonic better known for their  DaVinci DAC. It provides multichannel output at 384 kHz and it sounds just astonishing. For now I am using Buffalo 2 as DAC, but planning to drop in ACKO DAC with ESS 9012.

In the analog output I use Legato 3 and suppling it with Shunty regs from separate case. Two cases bellow are the ones I made – modified and they house power supply and analog buffers with transformers and analog volume control. My volume control is passive relay controlled, and as I am typing this I am listening to the system. I have to say I cannot hear the difference between volume on Sabre compared to volume in analog. Your programming works really well and volume and remote are working exceptionally.

I truly enjoyed these pictures. Check out his work.

  1. Sync
    2011/12/10 at 08:13 | #1

    “Oprem Dobro” Hahahah neprocenjivo!

    Vlada is the Man!

  2. 2011/12/26 at 07:21 | #2

    Merry Christmas! Not sure if you knew or not, but Arduino 1.0 was released. There are a few code changes, and I fixed most of them, but one of them I’m not sure about: “As of Arduino 1.0, the ‘BYTE’ keyword is no longer supported. Please use Serial.write() instead.”

    Do you have any pointers on how to fix this? Thanks very much!

    • BlogGeanDo
      2011/12/29 at 04:56 | #3

      Hello Justin,

      Let me take a look. I have not ported the code to 1.0 yet…

    • BlogGeanDo
      2012/01/06 at 06:16 | #4

      The “fix” is easy. Just replace each instance of lcd.print() with lcd.write and omit the BYTE keyword. However, there are other problems with the I2C protocol that has changed. So better stick with version 0.22. When I get a chance I’ll try to make the fix, but for now there are no advantages of using the newer version of the Arduino environment.

  3. 2012/01/02 at 18:18 | #5

    Great, thanks! Looking forward to that very much! :D
    And hope you had a great new year.

  4. syklab
    2012/05/22 at 02:05 | #6

    Hi where did you find the USB connector you have on your back plate? Nice idea!

  5. Anonymous
    2012/06/22 at 02:53 | #7

    Where can one buy the Titan module?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 183 other followers